Health and safety at work (General Risk management) Regulations 2016

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Joanne Morton 3 weeks, 6 days ago.

• Author

KylieLegae
    Participant

Morning all, Im a health and safety Inspector with WorkSafe. Our publication regarding manual handling in the health care setting can be found here https://worksafe.govt.nz/topic-and-industry/health-and-safety-in-healthcare/moving-and-handling-people-in-the-healthcare-industry/

it covers duties of PCBU’s to manage the risk of manual handling. In terms of mandatory training our legislation isn’t specific in terms of saying manual handling training is required, we go back to managing the risk which of course includes training. You can get more specific info on training from the regs

Health and Safety at Work (General Risk and Workplace Management) Regulations 2016
    Reg 9 Duty to provide information, supervision, training and instruction
    The PCBU must ensure, so far as is reasonably practicable, that everyworker who carries out work of any kind uses plant of any kind, or deals with a substance of any kind that is capable of causing a risk in the workplace;
    (b) is adequately training in the safe use of-
    (i) all plant, objects, substances or equipment that the worker is or may be required to use or handle.

I hope that helps
    cheers
    Kylie

Kate Browne
    Participant

Hi Kylie

Thanks for your comments from WorkSafe’s perspective.
    With regards to WorkSafe’s guidance material it states clearly that a moving and handling programme with multiple components is the effective way to reduce M & H related injuries among health care workers but that training workers in people moving and handling techniques alone is ineffective in reducing injuries.
    This aligns with current research to date.